

Government of Northwest Territories

June 15, 2023

Mr. David Livingstone Chairperson, Giant Mine Oversight Board BOX 1602, 5015 - 50TH AVENUE YELLOWKNIFE NT X1A 2P2 livingstone21@hotmail.com

Dear Mr. Livingstone:

Giant Mine Oversight Board Annual Report 2022

Thank you for providing the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) with the 2022 Giant Mine Oversight Board (GMOB) Annual Report. As a co-proponent of the Giant Mine Remediation Project (GMRP), the GNWT's Department of Environment and Climate Change (ECC) has provided input into the upcoming GMRP formal responses to the annual report recommendations.

GNWT-ECC values GMOB's interest and input into the socio-economic aspects of the GMRP to encourage opportunities for Indigenous and northern businesses to benefit from the Project. ECC staff were appreciative of GMOB's 2022 GMRP Economic Modelling presented to the GNWT Standing Committee for Economic Development and Environment (SCEDE), the GMRP team, and the GNWT Remediation Economy Coordination Committee.

Throughout the life of the Project, the GNWT and the Government of Canada (Canada) have successfully worked together to build respectful, and meaningful relationships with Indigenous Governments, Indigenous Organizations and stakeholders on matters relating to many technical aspects of the Project. The Project team has and continues to communicate the Project plans and schedules with organizations, such as the Great Slave Sailing Club and Yellowknife Historical Society, regarding the public boat launch and associated areas.

I continue to encourage ongoing dialogue between GMOB and the Project team, as your input contributes greatly to the delivery of a successful project.

Sincerely,

Minister

Shane Thompson

Environment and Climate Change

c. Distribution List

Distribution List:

Honourable Dan Vandal Minister of Northern Affairs Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Michael McLeod, MP Member of Parliament for the Northwest Territories

Members of the Legislative Assembly

Shaleen Woodward Principal Secretary

Martin Goldney Secretary to Cabinet/Deputy Minister Executive and Indigenous Affairs

Dr. Erin Kelly Deputy Minister Environment and Climate Change

Shawn McCann Deputy Secretary, Indigenous and Intergovernmental Affairs Executive and Indigenous Affairs

Parties to the Environmental Agreement

Directors, Giant Mine Oversight Board